2018 predictions — from an Indian VC

I’m new to the predictions game, publicly stating them is risky business. But I have been building up my courage for this. So here goes. (These predictions are for the India startup ecosystem — startups, investors and macro. )

Consumer startups

1. The Hot — Brands —India is a brand starved country — brands stand for quality and trust. Segments like food, fashion, services — the quintessential consumption basket begets new brands. For tech VCs omni-channel brand models look attractive to invest in. Companies like Wrogn, Lenskart, Fabhotels and Bira — are interesting ones to learn from. The innovation is on product - the customer is very discerning and has ample choice, get the quality and price right. Focus on building the right distribution model, try and get unit economics in place — read gross margins 40%+, don’t plan on raising too much capital. Build a dhandha.

2. The Warm — Digital Content — Gaming, OTT Video & Vernacular — with the implosion of data prices, explosion of data usage, increasing data speeds and high penetration of smartphones — the stage is set for an inflexion point in India’s digital story. Apps have appeared with more than 200M+ MAUs — Youtube and onward we march towards with 100M+ DAUs apps like Whatsapp. Consumers are learning to pay through the mobile, though paying for content is still couple of years away. So consumer engagement is here and present, hopefully the money will follow. Build a great product, get loads of engagement, go for scale, conserve cash for the monetization moment to arrive.